Advice / Life

September Resolutions

September is the beginning of fall, the school year, and for all my Jewish followers, the Jewish New Year! Here are some resolutions we can start!

Eat Healthy: The healthier you eat, the better you feel. This doesn’t mean you need to cut off from carbs and candy, but to eat in moderation. Eat what you want, but to a healthy degree. All you have to do it put your mind into it and create an environment that will help you stay on point. While shopping for food, buy healthy foods that you know you’ll enjoy. Stock up on fruits and veggies and look up some healthy recipes that are easy to make and delicious to eat.

Sleep More: On the first day of class, my teacher told me to sleep more. He made it a rule, he told us that if we slept more we would do better in his class and that we will retain more knowledge. I doubted everything he said because I believed that if I slept I lost time to do more important things, but I decided that he knew best and tried my hardest to get to bed a little earlier each night. I have to tell you that it really did work. Yes, some nights I get to bed super late and I feel really gross in the morning, but when I do get a good nights rest, I wake up feeling like I have the power to get through the day. So to all my late night owls, try to give your mind and body some rest, I’m sure its begging you to let it cool off for a little while.

Stop Procrastinating: Oh goodness, I’ve promised myself countless amounts of times to stop procrastinating and I still am. I guess its a certain laziness in me that needs to be dealt with and I’m hoping this year will be the year it ends. To all my procrastinators out there, let me be the one to tell you that you’re not only hurting your chances at a good grade or doing something, but you’re being stupid. So get up and do what you need to do, whether it’s studying, practicing, learning, listening, or whatever. Go do it.

Be Comfortable in My Skin: I’ve gotta say it, I hate my hair. Its not curly, but its also not straight. I’ve damaged it with flat irons, hair color, just name it, I’ve done it. This year I promised myself and my best friend that I will embrace the hair and help it grow healthily. To all y’all that are struggling with your self image, I’m going to let you all know that the best way to gain confidence is to accept yourself the way you are. Embrace the things that make you, you and love yourself as is.

Leave a Reply

