Music

Music Monday: BANKS

I have to be honest with all of you. I have a problem. I think I have fallen deeply in love with Jillian Banks, otherwise known as BANKS, but I don’t think I am the only one. Her hauntingly beautiful voice has taken over my heart and overtook the internet in only a year.

Jillian Banks, an LA native has been writing songs from the age of 15. Many would describe her music as a dark R&B (if you need to compare that to an artist, think the Weeknd), but I would relate her to Lana, but more emotional and better lyrics. Her music is quite brooding, you can feel the emotion through every verse in each song, which helps establish a connection with, not only the music, but the artist as well.

~Now you gotta deal with this glitch on your shoulder
Fucking with a goddess and you get a little colder
Yea it’s colder, colder
Fucking with a goddess, and you get a little colder~

The lyrics to her song, Goddess are my mantra in life. She explains that a man should treat a woman like she is a goddess, because she is one, and if he doesn’t than once shes gone he’ll understand that he lost something truly special. How empowering is that?!

Take a listen. Tell me what you think. Happy Monday everyone!

xx Leehe

 

Leave a Reply

